Skip to Content Skip to Navigation

Melissa Pausina: bio

- Dr.

(b. 1975 New Orleans)

A composer of solo, chamber, orchestral, electro-acoustic, and algorithmic computer realized music, Pausina's works have been internationally performed/presented/commissioned by leading musicians who champion the works of living composers. Among such performers and listed followed by their city of base include Momenta Quartet (New York, New York), the Cygnus Ensemble (New York, New York), Ensemble SurPlus (Freiburg, Germany), and Pascal Gallois (Paris, France). 

Select honors and awards include Philadelphia Philharmonic New Voices, American Composers Forum Sound Exchange, the Internationalen Ferienkurse fur Neue Musik, Darmstadt, Composers Conference at Wellesley College, Oregon Bach Festival Composers Symposium, "New Generation of American Composers"  - Ensemble Surplus, and Newcomb College Institute of Tulane University.


Temple University, Doctor of Musical Arts, Composition 2010

Tulane University, Master of Arts, Composition 2003

Louisiana State University, Bachelor of Music, Composition 2000